Moving for Brunch

by

So…I don’t really know how to say this. I’m moving. The Sconz is moving. From now on I will host The Sconz from The Daily Page, Isthmus’ website. The url will be thedailypage.com/thesconz. If you go there right now there’s nothing, but that should all change tomorrow. If everything goes as planned, “thesconz.com” will redirect to the new page. Either way, the last post on this site will be a link to the new site, so you shouldn’t have any problem finding it.

I first talked to Isthmus about doing something similar last summer. At first I said that I would prefer to stay independent. It was working well and wanted to see how far I could take it. However, after doing the blog for eight months, I’m ready to try something new, and more importantly, I hope that having a paper behind my name will allow me to do more reporting, especially after I graduate in May and have more time. Some local and state officials have answered my questions and been cool. But others have not. I would like to change that.

I can’t believe how long this has been going. I started the Sconz the day after I got back from my study abroad trip in France. I immediately started a facebook for the site and soon I started a twitter. The social networking assured me a certain readership from the start, but nothing could have prepared me for the response I got over the following months.

I guess I was kind of lucky. The popular campus-area blog The Critical Badger was winding down and eventually stopped. The vacuum in campus affairs left me a certain audience. However, what most impressed me were the numerous readers from all over the state I met. People who came to The Sconz via WisOpinion (who links to me but won’t put me on their blogroll) or via other state blogs and became regulars. Brenda Konkel criticized me and in doing so drove scores of readers to The Sconz. After all this time, I think (knock on wood) Brenda is finally willing to cut me some slack.

I learned from the blogosphere. My very first brunch links was a very different affair than what most of you have come to know. And it was originally adopted from Dane101‘s breakfast links.

The poor economy was the worst thing that ever happened to millions of Americans and thousands of Wisconsinites but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I couldn’t find a job last summer, so I blogged.

Interaction is one of the key differences between the traditional media and the new media. The comments I’ve got in response have affirmed my faith in the new media and its potential to go beyond the boundaries set by its paper-print forebears. I am not a professional –– I had no qualifications to start this blog besides an interest in the subject matter. However, my readers, many of whom were more knowledgeable in many of the topics I touched upon, contributed and corrected me when necessary. Having readers who will point out your mistakes is a huge asset, and it’s one of the advantages of a more interactive media.

I could go on and on. I had the special pleasure of meeting Alec Slocum and Jaimie Chapman, both of whom took a load off my back while providing valuable new voices to the site. I can’t tell you what a relief it was last week when Alec live-blogged a forum on free speech that I had been completely oblivious to. Jaimie has a charming and fun style, and I encourage you to visit her own blog to keep up with her own writing.

Enough of the nostalgia. I’m not going away and neither are you. You are going to stay with me at the new location. Here’s what you gotta do. First off, like I said, the new url is: thedailypage.com/thesconz. HOWEVER, even if you can’t remember that I will put up a link on this site so that the first thing you see on this site will be the link to the new site. ALSO, there will be an RSS button on the new site so you should add that to your RSS feeds. Facebook and Twitter will remain in tact, and all updates will be posted on both, including links.

Please follow me to Isthmus. The blog will be exactly the same. Here’s the thing though –– the comments are slightly different. You have to sign in to comment. All that means is that you have to put in an email address and password and then you can comment using that username. I know it’s a pain in the ass but you really should do it. I need you guys.

14 Responses to “Moving for Brunch”

  1. I'm not giving my name to a machine Says:

    OH MY FUCKING GOD.

    • Slane Says:

      I had a feeling “I’m not giving my name to a machine” might not be as enthusiastic about this move…

      Nevertheless, congrats once again. Now that you’ve made it “official,” I can “officially” buy you a drink at the Plaza.

  2. Erik Paulson Says:

    Hrm, bad move, unless you got some guarantees out of TDP.

    The Isthmus does a _terrible_ job at maintaining any sense of identity for bloggers. Emily Mills just sort of disappeared into the website, where occasionally you can find a story from here, but it’s a huge pain in the ass to find things she’s written.

    For whatever reason, only that windbag Blaska gets a menu item under ‘The Daily’. Will you get one? Could you get one for Emily, too?

    Of course though, congratulations on taking it to the next level. The Isthmus is a great brand, and it’s good that TDP recognizes your work and wanted to bring you in. Hopefully TDP will fix their design to do a better job of featuring their writers.

    • Jack Says:

      Erik, I can’t speak for Emily or Isthmus but I think that Emily’s Post is more like a weekly article than a blog. It’s not quite the same concept.

      The Sconz is going to continue the same as always, with daily posts.

      • Emily Says:

        It’s a twice-weekly blog.😦

      • Jack Says:

        Emily,

        Sorry! Did that change in the last month? When I saw you in January I thought you said once a week.

        Also, I recognize that it is more of a blog style, I guess by article I mean the posts are much longer than things I write.

      • Emily Says:

        Yeah, it only just changed about a month ago. I was being sensitive.😉

  3. Steve Horn Says:

    Congrats, man!

  4. Emma R. Says:

    What are they paying you?

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Sell out!

  6. Madison Guy Says:

    Keep up the good work. Congratulations!

  7. Marsha Says:

    Good luck Jack. Now I can wonder if you are selling out to the Man!🙂 I hope you learn a lot and help us make sense of the world…. See you around.

  8. Jaimie Chapman Says:

    You’re charming too. ; )

  9. Ryan Says:

    Congrats Jack! You’re goin places!

Leave a Reply

