99 cents is worth it.

by

Located at 652 State Street, Einstein’s is one of my favorite places to spend less than a dollar and still be totally satisfied.

For 99 cents, you can grab any of their bagels. I have never ventured past my favorite Asiago bagel, but that’s because I don’t have to. It’s so good that I don’t want to have any other flavor. I believe this is probably true for whatever flavor tickles your fancy. Einstein’s Asiago bagel has a chewy quality that I really like, but its one downfall is that it’s just not quite cheesy enough. This may be due to the fact that this Asiago bagel has a hole in the middle, while many others I have had do not. At 99 cents, I can’t complain.

Apple-cinnamon bagel with blueberry cream cheese.

Einstein’s line at lunchtime used to be out the door, but lately, it isn’t quite as long. I can only speculate that this may be a part of the poor economy, but perhaps it is simply being forgotten in the mix of restaurants lining State. Also, Starbucks is close. Damn.

Perhaps one of my favorite things about Einstein Bros. is the fact that they print coupons in the Sunday newspaper- good coupons too! For example, I had a coupon the other day that was for a “free regular chocolate covered strawberry latte with any purchase.” So, I purchased my 99 cent bagel and received a latte for free. For free! It was an excellent midday snack- cheap and satisfying.

Einstein Bros. isn’t just bagels and coffee. They also have a pretty expansive breakfast and lunch menu. Score!

Einstein’s is generally a pretty loud place and not really the type of place that I could ever study in, but if you have no problem studying in College Library, you can probably also study in Einstein’s.

Though I am generally not an advocator for chain coffee shops, for me, this is not my coffee shop; it’s my bagel shop.

Next week, I’m taking a trek up to Mifflin to see if Gotham has a better bagel for me.

I’m also planning to have a deli lunch from Fresh. I’ll let you know how that goes as well.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “99 cents is worth it.”

  1. Paul A. Says:

    I do enjoy Einsteins. They have good bagels, but I feel that they’re just a little on the soft side. I like my bagels to have a bit harder outside. I’ve gotta check out Gotham Bagels though, I hear good things about their product.

  2. Emily Says:

    In my ever humble opinion, Gotham has the absolute best bagels in town. Definitely get yourself there for a taste or two.

    • Jack Says:

      I know I should…I just don’t live nearby..I think. I live above a really terrible hot dog place that used to be a bagel place. What a shame.

Leave a Reply

