The Final Tally on the Diversity Throwdown

by

Opinion Page Editor Sean Kittridge (more people need to talk about how stellar the titles he comes up with for the Herald’s pieces are) announced the end of the Diversity Throwdown yesterday. So, I thought a tally on how many pieces were published for, against, and just relating to affirmative action on campus would be interesting.

A couple of things to note first. I focused my search mostly on the Herald, I only included Cardinal columns that came off the top of my head. Second, categorizing each piece is unfair and a vast oversimplification…but it makes for a good time.

The results:

Against: 6 (3 letters to the editor, 3 by columnists, none I could find after the declaration of Diversity War)

For: 10 (7 letters to the editor, 3 by columnists)

Calling for a re-framing of the debate: 7 ( 2 letters to editor, 5 by columnists, including 2 from Smathers)

In between: 3 (columns like Smathers asking people to write in etc.)

Again, this is by no means scientific. But, it should be a relatively accurate count.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Final Tally on the Diversity Throwdown”

  1. Patrick Says:

    If I were you I might reconsider the “for” and “against” description of those categories. I don’t really think that you mean the authors were “for diversity” or “against diversity.” I don’t think it’s too hard to guess what you really mean, but you could definitely make a better choice of description.

    Secondly, what did you categorize my column as?

  2. Alec S Says:

    You’re right, I didn’t mean ‘for’ or ‘against’ the idea of diversity. At the end of the first paragraph I use ‘affirmative action,’ which is also imprecise, but not to the same extent as ‘diversity.’ I’ll try to change it.

    I put you on “calling for a reframing of the debate.” I guess it may be better categorized as “calling for actual acceptance of debate” but I can’t find it to look it over again for sure. I just went with what I remembered. Fair?

Leave a Reply

