Fat Sandwich – a fat waste of cash

by

The only thing that Fat Sandwich Company really has working in its favor is its unbelievable intrigue. Clearly, I just had to go. I had to see what the fuss was all about.

Unfortunately, Fat Sandwich did not deliver.

From the second I walked in the door, I just knew I would hate it. The speaker placed right next to the door blared music in my face the second I opened it.

I walked through to find a completely overwhelming menu of 20+ “fat sandwiches.” After realizing that I would never know what I liked on my fat sandwich until I tried something, I decided to choose the “Fat Sconnie,” in honor of “The Sconz.” This sandwich contained chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, marinara sauce and to my surprise, French fries, which all came wrapped in a large roll to soak up all the saucy… well… It wasn’t good.

I won’t even go into the sadness that overcomes me when I think about establishments like this one (and the idea it promotes) and the amount of obesity plaguing our nation.

The sandwich was really dry, which I blame on all the carbohydrate- bread, potato, breading.. can’t be good for ya. On top of that, the French fries were stale and limp, the marinara had no flavor and the bread fell apart because the pieces within the sandwich were too big to bite into.

The sandwich cost me a whopping $7 and with a drink, my total came to over $8. Granted, the sandwich was huge, but the quality was poor and I wish I could have my $7 back.

While the food wasn’t stellar, the Fat Sandwich did deliver a certain sense of humor. The menu was tailored to college life, offering creations such as the “Fat Magnum” and “Fat Sorostitute” (sorry ladies). They also made the effort to play to internationalize their sandwich selection by offering the “Fat Gyro” and “Fat Falafel.” In addition, there’s a BYO (build your own) option and other standard choices: burgers, salads and wraps, though this is clearly not the appeal of eating at Fat Sandwich.

The staff was friendly and there were rolls of paper towels conveniently placed on each table (and you need them, trust me).

Fat Sandwich offers a few conveniences such as cigarillos and cigarettes. They also have long hours (11am-3am) and have delivery and online ordering options.

An important convenience they lack, however, is Wi-fi. I asked the employees if I could get Internet and I was told that if I sat at one corner of the restaurant, I could “steal” Wi-fi from the University Inn because it wasn’t a secured network. It did work, but they should consider getting their own so that the entire restaurant can enjoy this service.

At lunch on a Monday, there were about 8-10 people in and out, including myself. This was an unfortunate, but understandable crowd. I could only justify coming here again if I was so drunk that Taco Bell was no longer appealing. Even then, $9 for a drunken snack hardly seems worth it, although I might have to remember the “burger donut” for my next drunken escapade. Truly, $9 wasn’t worth it for lunch either when the “$5 footlong” is just a block away.

Sadly, Fat Sandwich just did not hit the spot. My prediction is that Fat Sandwich’s unique appeal will subside and that its fat presence on State St. will be gone very soon.

555 State Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53703
(608) 819-8119


Have a restaurant suggestion that you’d like to see reviewed here on The Sconz? E-mail jechapman@wisc.edu

Tags:

8 Responses to “Fat Sandwich – a fat waste of cash”

  1. Slane Says:

    I gave Fat Sandwich a few shots, but my third trip was my last. I got my Fat Meathead to go, and upon unwrapping it back at Vilas, found two distinct spots of mold on the bread. If the prospect of walking all the way back to receive another sub-par sandwich wasn’t so unappealing, I probably would have given them a piece of my mind. As is, I tell anyone and everyone I know to avoid the place.

  2. Kevin Bargnes Says:

    http://badgerherald.com/artsetc/2009/09/01/fat_sandwich_novelty.php

    Yup. And Kevin, that’s fucking gross, the mere thought of mold on one of those sandwiches makes me never want to go there again.

  3. What the fuck Says:

    This is SO not a fat waste of cash are you fucking retarded? This place has a HUGE following and has been there for a while so no one gives a flying fuck about your two cents in the matter of Fat Sandwich Co.

    Please just do everyone a HUGE fucking favor and take down this bullshit “Review” from a tasteless, soulless, sorry EXCUSE for a human being

  4. Slane Says:

    ^ Hi there, representative of the Fat Sandwich company!

    1. How is 4 months of operation “a while”?

    2. How is 2-3 people at most during the day “a HUGE following”?

    3. Do you know Jamie personally? Because calling her a “tasteless, soulless, sorry excuse for a human being” seems to be a bit much.

    4. There was mold on my sandwich. Enough said.

    (Though I will say the employees at Fat Sandwich were very friendly. So I guess you’ve got that going for you.)

  5. Sloooooow Says:

    We attempted to eat there one Sunday afternoon and had one of the worst experiences over. Including us, there were 5 people in the restaurant as a group of 3 guys ordered in front of us. We waited 40 minutes for our food to come. During this time we watched the employees talk to each other and text message on their phone. After 40 minutes they called the name of one of the guys in front of us and handed him ONE of the three sandwiches. At this point we got up to leave for one of the many other options on State Street. Also, with the prices of the sandwiches (around 7.50) they would have had to be the biggest, best I’ve ever had to justify the cost.

  6. face? stay program Says:

    I write a comment when I especially enjoy a post on a website or if I have
    something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.

    Usually it’s a result of the fire displayed in the article I browsed.
    And after this article Fat Sandwich – a fat waste of cash | The Sconz.

    I was excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or do a few of the remarks look
    like coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And,
    if you are writing at additional online sites,
    I would like to keep up with you. Would you list the complete
    urls of all your communal sites like your linkedin
    profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

