Tommy Thompson: I can do anything I want

by

David Blaska must be regretting all the stupid things he’s said over the years that (you’d hope) will keep him from holding an official position in politics again. His savior, Gov. Tommy Thompson, is openly considering runs for U.S. Senate and governor.

Former Wisconsin Governor Tommy Thompson (left) says he’s still weighing his political options and hasn’t ruled out a possible run for governor or U.S. Senate.

“I’ve always said I’ve got one more good campaign in me, whether it be for the United States Senate, whether it be for governor or mayor of Elroy,” Thompson said on Sunday’s “UpFront with Mike Gousha.”

“I would still like to run … one more time.”

Thompson said he’s “very concerned” about the direction of federal and state government and feels he could be helpful “in either one of those arenas.”

“I haven’t decided truly that I’m going to run, but I haven’t said no,” Thompson said.

Frankly, I’d be surprised if Thompson opted for the Senate bid over the governor’s race. If he does, it would likely be because of the novelty of the job and the excitement of running against a candidate as popular as Feingold. Or, he might think it would be a fun way to ride out into the sunset in Washington.

If he actually seeks power and influence, he knows better than anyone that the governor of Wisconsin has more of it than a freshman member of the U.S. Senate, especially with Republicans in the minority. That can and will change of course, but not in 2010. Granted, a lot of things have changed since Tommy was running the show. Not only can he not veto letters, but now he can’t even veto words!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Tommy Thompson: I can do anything I want”

  1. David Blaska Says:

    Actually, I’m planning to say a few more stupid things before I’m done.

  2. Irish Frog Says:

    haha, Sconz, did you assign that avatar to Mr. Blaska? It’s perfect, and it’s good to know he has a sense of humor.

    I agree though, I don’t see Tommy running against Feingold. I could see him taking a shot at Kohl’s seat in 2012, but I still think Ryan wants that seat. Until then, Tommy can continue to build his bank account and stay in contact with the powerful as president of logistics health. As far as the governors job, if Tommy wants it, I don’t think any dem could keep him from it.

  3. The Sconz Says:

    Avatars are assigned randomly.

Leave a Reply

