Student lobby to meet with Pocan

by

The Wisconsin Student Lobby, the newest recipient of tuition dollars, is meeting with Rep. Mark Pocan tomorrow to discuss…

I have no idea. I sent a twitter message to the group with the hope of getting some insight into the matter. Obviously, the group will prove to be a worthy investment if it brings more money to the university than it costs the university. I have a relative amount of trust in the organization because I happen to know that one of its leaders, Patrick McEwan, is a grade-A dork. Armed with statistics, he could argue down any state legislator. I hope Patrick doesn’t take it too hard when he finds out that policy is rarely guided by facts.

8 Responses to “Student lobby to meet with Pocan”

  1. Tom Templeton Says:

    They didn’t answer my twitter message either.

  2. Jason Smathers Says:

    Pfft. Twitter. Why don’t you tell them about your evil alliance with WSL, eh? Your ATHEIST ALLIANCE?

  3. Patrick McEwen Says:

    First of all, if you’re going to blog about me, you could at least spell my name correctly. And thanks for the compliment. 😉

    Secondly, the visit with Rep. Pocan tomorrow is much less special than this post seems to imply. We’ve been meeting with a number of legislators and staff members this summer. I haven’t counted in a while, but I we’re up well over a dozen so far this summer.

    As far as issues go, there isn’t anything too serious being discussed at the moment. We’re mainly attempting to take advantage of the down time after the budget but before the start of the next time the legislature is in session, starting the 3rd week of September, to introduce our group to as many legislators as possible. We’re also preliminarily discussing a couple of issues just to gather some feedback about a couple of ideas and start figuring out which legislators would be potential supporters or be interested in potentially authoring and introducing legislation. I guess since there appears to be interest, maybe I’ll put up a post on our blog about what we’ve been discussing and what we’ve been hearing from legislators and staffer members.

    Lastly, I know Jack certainly has my phone number and email address, or at least the capabilities to get them rather easily, but it appears was too lazy to attempt to contact me to figure out the answer to his question. I’m also not a big fan of twitter, so if you actually want answers to your questions, twitter will not be the place to get them. As a final thought, I would like to point out that the CB would have done better.

    • The Sconz Says:

      Thanks for the insight Patrick. A couple things: first off, nobody spells your name correctly, so why would I want to be different? Second, it’s a preliminary post baby. Nobody said I couldn’t add your wisdom to my next post. Third, CB probably would have done a better job, but until he attempts, the point is irrelevant.

  4. KB Says:

    McEwen would defend the CB. 🙂

  5. KB Says:

    Oh, and aren’t any of the campus politicos who frequent this shit grade-A dorks?

  6. Critical Badger Says:

    lol @ this entire exchange for many reasons

Leave a Reply

