Wando’s is the worst bar in Madison

by

I feel the same way about the Madison bar scene as I do about Hollywood. I indulge in it, I enjoy some of it. Yet I will never cease to be amazed by the amount of poor quality products put out by it. The Van Wilders, the Vanilla Skies, the Madhatters, the Wando’s. Wando’s is to Madison as 24 is to network television. It is certainly not the only bad product in its field, but it is without a doubt one of the worst.

I say this with confidence despite not having gone to all the bars in Madison. It’s really just an awful, godforsaken embarrassment to Madison night life. It’s unfortunate that they are known to have such a strict carding policy – it seriously reduces the chances that they’ll be shut down and turned into a fish taco joint – something Madison sorely needs.

I had the misfortune of attending Wando’s last night on the occassion of two of my friends’ birthday. After making our way past a glaring troupe of bouncers (how many do you really need on a Monday night?), we were practically pulvarized by what I believe was Korn playing at full decibel. Again, it’s ironic that the bar is not known to cater to underagers, because their trademark drink “the fishbowl” seems marketed not only at people under the drinking age, but kids under the new legal hunting age.

UPDATE: It was practically poetic. One day after making this post I got a call from an old friend who had just gotten back into town. And…long story short, I ended up at Wando’s again. I know, I have no principles. Truth be told, the fight over the girls bathroom and a bar-wide rendition of Kid Rock’s “Sweet Home Alabama” song was good entertainment.

Tags:

10 Responses to “Wando’s is the worst bar in Madison”

  1. Nonies Says:

    Why do we need a fish taco joint when we already have all you can eat fish taco Fridays at the Cabana Room?

  2. Rob Matsushita Says:

    I miss when Wando’s was the 602 Club.

  3. Lavilla Says:

    Wando’s is super lame actually. Plus if the swine flu ever comes to Madison, it will be transmitted through a fishbowl

  4. The Sconz Says:

    Too true Lavilla. In fact, at the time I was accompanied by my very sick roommate. I was the only one to pick his straw out of the bowl but I’m sure that wasn’t enough.

  5. Note to the readers « The Sconz Says:

    […] By The Sconz Hey all loyal Sconz readers. It’s been a good run so far. Apparently posting about Wando’s was the best thing that ever happened to the site – it got by far the most clicks of any post […]

  6. Ordinary Jill Says:

    Doesn’t Texas Tubb’s have fish tacos? I’m not sure; the only times I’ve tried to go there (both locations), it was too crowded to get a table. I guess they need a third location.

    When you say “worst bar in Madison,” do you really mean “worst bar in downtown Madison”? Because you’ve obviously never been to Wiggie’s on the north side.

  7. outPost Says:

    […] The Sconz | The worst bar in Madison "I say this with confidence despite not having gone to all the bars in Madison" […]

  8. drinking Says:

    Straightforward Techniques For Any Rewarding Ceremony
    Organizing a marriage is the two fascinating and very stressful.

    Changing into educated on weddings will aid ease some of those stresses.

  9. Spencer Says:

    I do not leave a response, however after looking at through a bunch of remarks on Wandos is the worst bar
    in Madison | The Sconz. I actually do have 2 questions
    for you if it’s okay. Is it only me or does it look like some of these comments appear like they are left by
    brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I would like
    to keep up with everything new you have to post.
    Could you post a list of all of all your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  10. judi banteng online Says:

    Very good post. I will be facing some of these issues as well..

Leave a Reply

