Sam Clegg disses my boy Marlin Schneider

by

I now realize that what was meant to be playful kidding in this post came off as arrogant and judgmental. That is not the style I would like to be associated with, so I apologize.

Thanks Jim Arndt, for pointing this one out to me. Sometimes my friend Sam Clegg writes opinion pieces that have no point. Other times, he writes pieces that have a point that nobody reading can figure out. So it’s hard to determine which category his recent column on OWI laws (at least that I’m partially sure of) falls into. But one thing is sure: he dissed my boy Marlin Schneider.

“Any reasonable analysis of the voting tally, along with a consideration of the issue at hand, would conclude Schneider is either a Neanderthal or a frat boy who stumbled into the legislature by mistake.”

It would be hard for me to nail Sam on this one. If I told him that Schneider is actually the longest-serving member of the Wisconsin Assembly in history, he would feel vindicated on his point that Wisconsin politics is run by morons.

However, what I will say is that there is no member of the legislature is as open to questions as Schneider. Although I often do not agree with some of the reasoning he uses to justify his votes, I have at least had the privilege of an unrestricted version of it –– something very uncommon when talking to politicians.

Yesterday I emailed him about legislation that will restrict public access to certain court records and he responded literally within the minute. On the issue of OWI he sent me two very long emails with a very sincere discussion of alcohol in Wisconsin that I can’t imagine any politician who worries about re-election would want to have. Among other things he called alcoholism classes in technical schools “a joke,” said that almost all people drink before they turn 21, and expressed compassion for people stuck with criminal records who cannot find jobs.

Sam, you might not like the conclusions Schneider draws, but I assure you, he’s your kind of guy.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Sam Clegg disses my boy Marlin Schneider”

  1. Sam Clegg Says:

    Jack,
    Given that I started the paragraph immediately following the one you wrote with “however,” and then went on to criticize the legislature for voting in favor of the bill, I tend to disagree with your analysis that I was “dissing” Schneider. Secondly, while I am not proud of many of my columns, I am content in knowing that I am capable of (occasionally) moving beyond the irritatingly snide condescension that I find in almost every one of your posts.

    Sam

  2. Sam Clegg Says:

    paragraph you cited*

  3. Jim Says:

    Awesome I started a fight.

    I kid, I kid.

    Jack I would be interested in what Schneider said about public access to court records. Is a post coming on it?

  4. IRONY ALERT Says:

    Wait, Clegg is calling someone else’s writing snide?

    HAHAHAHA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

